Poetry Tuesday! Little Mary, the Bed Wetter (A Children’s Poem)

By Ellie Mangle-Lero

Little Mary Woke Up High And Dry!

Oh Hai!

As many of you already know, I have decided to devote more of my time to writing Children’s Poems, so here is my first one! I could not wait until Poetry Friday! I guess I just have too much free time on my hands. Anyway, here is my cautionary homily for all the dear little children:

Little Mary, The Bed Wetter

I just woke up, my bed is wet!
I’m as ashamed as I can get!
And though I’m only five years old,
My sad, sad story must be told!

‘Cause, when my Mommy sees my bed,
She looks at me and shakes her head!
“Little Mary, you’re five years old,
And here you are all wet and cold!”

My Mommy told me not to drink.
That glass of water from the sink.
I listened not, now look at me!
It’s 3 AM, I ‘m soaked in pee!

Sooo, listen children, to my tale!
And listen to your Mom as well!
Don’t drink that water, here is why. . .
So you will wake up, warm and dry!

Ellie Mangle-Lero

FootNote: The Picture is of Mary Pickford in Tess of the Storm Country, a 1922 melodrama.

About Penelope Dreadful

An attorney, with a rye sense of humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry Tuesday! Little Mary, the Bed Wetter (A Children’s Poem)

  1. Nick Spinelli says:

    LOL! I just finished a bio of John Wooden. Unlike much written about Wooden, it was not fawning. Wooden loved poetry and wrote many poems.

    Like

    • I think it is a perfectly horrid little poem. Ellie Mangle-Lero must be daft! But, I do not censor my authors. I feared something like this when she left her full time blogging job in a huff. Maybe she will soon return to blogging, instead of creating nightmares for children.

      Like

Leave a Reply

